From POERUP - Policies for OER Uptake
Revision as of 19:34, 24 September 2014 by Pbacsich (Talk | contribs) (Text replacement - "Category:Provinces and territories of Canada" to "{{Canada regions}}")

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Saskatchewan is a prairie province in Canada

It has an area of 588,276 square kilometres (227,100 sq mi) and a population of 1,041,700 (according to 2010 estimates), mostly living in the southern half of the province. Of these, 257,300 live in the province's largest city, Saskatoon, while 194,971 live in the provincial capital, Regina. Other major cities, in order of size, are Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current and North Battleford. The province's name comes from the Saskatchewan River, whose name comes from its Cree designation: ᑭᓯᐢᑳᒋᐘᓂ ᓯᐱᐩ (kisiskāciwani-sīpiy), meaning "swift flowing river".

For more details see


For a full treatment see

> Canada
> Countries

>> Main Page