From POERUP - Policies for OER Uptake
Revision as of 19:34, 24 September 2014 by Pbacsich (Talk | contribs) (Text replacement - "Category:Provinces and territories of Canada" to "{{Canada regions}}")

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Manitoba is a prairie province of Canada. It has an area of 649,950 square kilometres (250,900 sq mi).

It has a population of 1.2 million and its capital is Winnipeg.

According to the 2006 Census, the largest ethnic group in Manitoba is English Canadian (259,595), but there is a significant Franco-Manitoban minority (148,370) and a growing aboriginal population (192,865, including the Métis). Other important ethnic groups include Germans (216,755 - the second-largest group), Scots (209,170), and the Irish (155,915).

The province has over 110,000 lakes and has a largely continental climate because of its flat topography. Agriculture, mostly concentrated in the fertile southern and western parts of the province, is vital to the province's economy; other major industries are transportation, manufacturing, mining, forestry, energy, and tourism.

Manitoba is one of the most important centres of Ukrainian culture outside Ukraine (there are 167,175 Ukrainian-Manitobans); and Gimli, Manitoba is home to the largest Icelandic community outside of Iceland.

Winnipeg is the seat of government, home to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba and the highest court in the jurisdiction, the Manitoba Court of Appeal. Four of the province's five universities, all four of its professional sports teams, and most of its cultural activities (including Festival du Voyageur and Folklorama) are located in Winnipeg.

For more details see


(sourced from


Public schools in Manitoba fall under the regulation of one of thirty-seven school divisions within the provincial education system (except for the Manitoba Band Operated Schools, which are administered by the federal government). Public schools follow a provincially mandated curriculum in either French or English.

There are 65 funded independent schools in Manitoba, including three boarding schools. These schools must follow the Manitoban curriculum and meet other provincial requirements.

There are 44 non-funded independent schools, which are not required to meet those standards.


There are five universities in Manitoba, regulated the Ministry of Advanced Education and Literacy.

Four of these universities are in Winnipeg:

  1. the University of Manitoba, the largest and most comprehensive
  2. Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface, the province's only French-language university
  3. Canadian Mennonite University, a religion-based institution
  4. the University of Winnipeg, a smaller campus located downtown.

The Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface, established in 1818 and now affiliated with the University of Manitoba, is the oldest university in Western Canada.

Brandon University, formed in 1899 and located in Brandon, is the province's newest university and the only one not in Winnipeg.

> Canada
> Countries

>> Main Page