From POERUP - Policies for OER Uptake
Revision as of 16:54, 24 September 2014 by Pbacsich (Talk | contribs) (1 revision: languages pages from wiki)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Dutch (Nederlands) is a West Germanic language spoken by over 22 million people as a native language, and about 5 million people as a second language.

Most native speakers live in the Netherlands, Flanders in Belgium, and Suriname, with smaller groups of speakers in parts of France, Germany and several former Dutch colonies.

It is closely related to other West Germanic languages (e.g., English, West Frisian and German) and somewhat more remotely to the North Germanic languages.

Dutch is the parent language of several creole languages as well as of Afrikaans, one of the official languages of South Africa and the most widely understood language in Namibia.

Dutch and Afrikaans are to a very large extent mutually intelligible, although they have separate spelling standards and dictionaries and have separate language regulators. The Dutch Language Union coordinates actions of the Dutch, Flemish and Surinamese authorities in linguistic issues, language policy, language teaching and literature.

For a list of countries where Dutch is spoken see Category:Dutch-speaking_countries

> Languages
> Main Page