From POERUP - Policies for OER Uptake
Jump to: navigation, search

Alagoas is one of the 27 federative units of Brazil.

It is situated in the eastern part of the Northeast Region. It borders Pernambuco (N and NW); Sergipe (S); Bahia (SW); and the Atlantic Ocean (E).

It occupies an area of 27,767 km², being slightly larger than Haiti.

Its capital is the city of Maceió.

Its population is around 3.1 million.

It is made up of 102 municipalities and its most populous cities are Maceió, Arapiraca, Palmeira dos Índios, Rio Largo, Penedo, União dos Palmares, São Miguel dos Campos, Santana do Ipanema, Delmiro Gouveia, Coruripe, Marechal Deodoro, and Campo Alegre.

Next to last Brazilian state in area (larger only than Sergipe) and 16th in population, it is one of the greatest producers of sugarcane and coconuts in the country and has an economy based on cattle raising.

For more details see

> Brazil
> Main Page